From Introspection to Action

So recently I have been reading “The Joy Plan” from the You Bible App. I have learned so much from it, as is the case with many of the plans I do, and I just want to share something specific that I learned.

In my last post The Wilderness I spoke about really being lost and without vision. How we search for clarity and continue to follow God even when we don’t know where we’re going or who we even are. I then stumble upon this plan and began reading it. When I started reading it the first thing it said was “be careful not to get stuck in introspective mode”. This was a not so subtle smack in the face as I often pride myself on being so self-aware. However it was exactly what I needed to be reminded of; what I believe we all need to hear at some point.

I want to go ahead and believe that many of us, we honestly don’t know what we are doing so we go,” if I can just BE better….” We begin to focus on who we are and what we are being that we forgot to finish the sentence with “…I will DO (insert greatness here)”. We begin to have a strong awareness of self for way too long that we don’t actually put that new self into action. The ability to learn about ourselves and grow, discover new gifts & talents is not just for our own satisfaction but it is to truly understand who we are meant to be and to begin to plant the seeds that God has placed in us so we may blossom fully.

10 For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. Ephesians 2:10

When we go from a place of introspection to action we truly discover our passions. The idea of a new self is no longer sitting in our mind for imagination sake, but it is now living a new life; we are living a new life! So maybe we have to step out a little in order to get to that point, but let’s do it. I know I get scared at times to step out and do things,  but I can’t say I know who I am and then not truly be that person or do what is expected. I cannot waste in search of full clarity.

THE IS NO SUCH THING AS FULL CLARITY!

I must show my action on a spiritual and a practical level, not for clarity sake. We must do both in order to truly live. So I encourage you, “do not just let a dream be a dream” as they say. You think you are self-aware that’s great! You think you are not yet self-aware, that’s still great! Remember that God doesn’t need you to fully know yourself to do a work in you, but that’s another post for another day. Begin to put introspection into action, and begin to blossom.

 

Leave a Reply

