Food For Thought: Set Time

I experienced a beautiful site last night you all! Sometimes my friends call me “one of those people”, people who find beauty and amazement in everything; I take it as a compliment. Well last night as I was taking my dog out to pee I turned into “one of those people”. The moon was so full and strikingly beautiful. I tried to take a picture of it so I could share it with you all but it was so bright that all I got through was a blurb. Even as the stars glistened in the sky all I could think was wow God is amazing. I stared in the sky and although twice I confused an airplane with a star but then realized the star was moving and blinking red, the stars I did see were truly a testament of God’s glory.  As I was standing outside staring into the sky I just remembered the story of the creation.

Then God said, “Let there be light,” and there was light. And God saw that the light was good. Then he separated the light from the darkness. God called the light “day” and the darkness “night.”

And evening passed and morning came, marking the first day.

Then God said, “Let there be a space between the waters, to separate the waters of the heavens from the waters of the earth.” And that is what happened. God made this space to separate the waters of the earth from the waters of the heavens. God called the space “sky.”

And evening passed and morning came, marking the second day.

14 Then God said, “Let lights appear in the sky to separate the day from the night. Let them be signs to mark the seasons, days, and years. 15 Let these lights in the sky shine down on the earth.” And that is what happened. 16 God made two great lights—the larger one to govern the day, and the smaller one to govern the night. He also made the stars. 17 God set these lights in the sky to light the earth, 18 to govern the day and night, and to separate the light from the darkness. And God saw that it was good.

19 And evening passed and morning came, marking the fourth day.

Between day 1 and day 4 God perfected the differences with intention. Day and night, light and dark, earth and heaven were all separated, all offering different things for different times, all offering purpose. As I stood outside in darkness, in the night, I came to understand what nighttime was truly for. It was created to reflect, to listen, to hear, to remember, to have peace, to rest, to admire the beauty of things often unseen. Often times we don’t get to admire nighttime because we are sleeping, or out and about, or doing other things. Night comes and goes and comes and goes and we miss its beauty, its silent noise. People come and go and we miss their beauty, their truths.

I can’t imagine living in the city. I can’t imagine not being able to look out my window and see stars because of so many lights or high populations. We have to be intentional to see God’s beauty in both ends. Do you know it is much louder going for a walk at night than during the day? Every animal and bug just seems to be wide awake! Yet their sounds soothe better than car horns and conversations. Set time to escape into the night! Set time to look at the moon, the stars, to listen, to feel that peace to rest. What I experienced last night was beautiful not because it was nature, but because it was part of God’s first creation.  Are you going to set time to experience the same?

Leave a Reply

