More than a Proverbs 31 woman

For the most part of my life I honestly only knew the book of Proverbs in different statements, I didn’t actually know that they came from the book of Proverbs, such as “iron sharpens iron” or “train up a child…”. I knew Proverbs simply as the book that talks about how to be a woman, mainly Proverbs 31. I knew Proverbs as the book after Psalms honestly. As I grew older I often heard Proverbs mentioned as the book of wisdom. Basically everything you questioned and any advice needed would be in Proverbs, so I finally took time to study it and my mind has since been opened!

I recently spent the month of May studying this book full of so much wisdom. Literally, Proverbs is packed with wisdom.  Proverbs has 31 chapters and May has 31 days, so it worked out that I was able to really take it day by day and gain a true understanding of the book.  I didn’t want to read it like a book and I don’t want to explain it like a book either, reading Proverbs or any book in the Bible for that matter is something you have to experience for yourself in order to truly develop and build a relationship with the Lord.

Sometimes we feel lost, misguided, led astray, or on pause. We feel things good and bad, we go through life experiences and we don’t often know what to do during those time periods. When I had started reading Proverbs I was at a point where I was uneasy, I was lost, I was thinking thoughts and feeling things that I knew were not reflective of the true person I was becoming. I was starting to fall off track, and though I had people to speak to, it wasn’t enough, yet decided to read Proverbs was.

In Proverbs 31 I was reminded of what it means to be a woman of virtue, to be a woman who honors her husband who also has full confidence in her; a woman who lives a life of service. I was also reminded in Proverbs 3 to trust in the Lord from the bottom of my heart because such wisdom enhances our well-being. I was reminded in chapter 24 that laziness is the mindset of a fool as well as other sayings from the wise.

Proverbs 27:2 – As water reflects the face, so one’s life reflects the heart.

Proverbs 14 examined the difference between a wise man and a fool, while reminding me that the life I live and the decisions I make are my own:

10 “Your joy is your own; your bitterness is your own. no one can share them with you.”

In Proverbs 29 I understood leadership and God’s guidance. In several different chapters of Proverbs I came across a verse that said “better to live on the corner of a roof than with a nagging wife” Ladies we are told 3 times to basically calm down!!!

As I was reading each chapter, I was filled each day with more wisdom and understanding in regards to my relationships, my role as a woman, my role for the kingdom, in leadership, my parents, my finances, contentment, my act of worship, the intent of my heart, and just every area of life known and yet to be discovered. I had a better peace of the direction I was headed because I was making sure I was being led by wisdom and that comes from giving God total control! Godly wisdom is more important and a greater pursuit than anything else in the world. I understand what it means to be a Proverbs 31 woman. However I hold more value to be a woman of Proverbs, the entire book. I choose to embrace wisdom in every way, not just for a few weeks because I finished this book of the Bible, but for life because:

  1. I can always open it and remind myself when I get stuck.

2. “The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge,
but fools despise wisdom and instruction.” Proverbs 1:7

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

