Food for thought: Where is your dependency?

Today was a beautiful day, until it no longer became beautiful. My friend was celebrating her birthday with a beautiful brunch and she looked sooo amazing! Everything was going well until I realized it was about to start storming so I decided to set out earlier than desired because I did not have my glasses to drive properly so I wanted to beat the storm. Well that’s when my day turned upside-down.

I set out on the road and my GPS decided once again it didn’t want to get me home. Next my phone decided it was time to die and hits 20%. Finally the storm started pouring, and I mean pouring! Within 10 minutes I hit a trifecta that I could not handle. I took the wrong exit and literally went from normally being 30 minutes from my house to about an hour and a half! I parked on the highway and just began to cry with my phone dead and the rain blurring my vision more. I had nothing to do. I honestly felt so abandoned because everything I was dependent on suddenly let me down. I started driving straight, thinking eventually I would find an exit or something and I did. I entered a residential area and was debating whether to knock on doors. At this point I had to use the restroom. (Side note: my friend had a brunch and she wanted us all in pajamas) What an image! As I’m driving and crying and driving I pass by a church. I literally parked and ran in because I noticed other cars in the lot so I knew someone had to be in there. The lady must of the thought I was crazy because I was out of breath and my makeup had tear stains but I didn’t care anymore. I asked her if she could give me directions so I could get back home and bless her heart she did.

I have never been so grateful for the kindness of a stranger in my life!  I was able to get back on the highway and make it back home. On my way home the storm had settled but my heart was far from settled. I felt so defeated, so put out-of-place because factors I would’ve controlled I was unable to and so I was literally lost in the rain. I remembered in the car when I had parked my faith was gone I was just crying and lost, as in I was calling God but He wasn’t near. However that’s not true. As I drove home the largest rainbow I had seen (if rainbows have sizes) shined brightly in the sky and I heard God simply ask, “Where is your dependency? What are you pursing?fullsizerender-1

“Like the appearance of a rainbow in the clouds on a rainy day, so was the radiance around him. This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the LORD. When I saw it, I fell facedown, and I heard the voice of one speaking.” Ezekiel 1:28

In the middle of storms or when we are lost in life what are we turning to? I was depending on my glasses for vision and I forgot them. I was depending on my GPS and phone but it died. Heck! I was even depending on the storm to hold out till I got home but that was out of my control! I am not perfect, and so even in that moment I felt far from God, He was right with me the whole time, protecting me from accidents and leading me to the church, giving me vision to even see the church, and then reminding me of who He is with the beauty of a rainbow. That alone is a reason to be dependent on Him, because He brings us good things, because He is awesome.

 

 

Leave a Reply

