I Doubt It

I want the best for people. I also want the best for myself. I have faith in people and believe they are going to be great and every gift God has given them will be used to help the kingdom. I don’t have that same faith in myself. I know I will be great, there is no doubting God’s creation, but to what capacity am I great? As much as I encourage others I often have issues with self-encouragement. What am I good at? Will I make it? Are they not better than me? It’s normal but then again it’s not when I know who my dad is right? These thought often seem to occupy my mind when I am doing really well towards something and then I just come to a screeching halt… I guess that’s why I have a lot of unfinished projects. That’s what happens when you doubt yourself, doubt God.

You see, when I doubted myself I realized I also doubted God in me. I knew He would do things for other people but I was unsure of my potential. Thoughts were entering my mind that made me think I couldn’t do the smallest things. There is a verse that goes,

“Jesus replied, “Truly I tell you, if you have faith and do not doubt, not only can you do what was done to the fig tree, but also you can say to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and it will be done.” – Matt 21:21

Embracing God without doubts opens doors to do everything aligned with the plan of God. Note I said “aligned with the plan of God.” Some doors may not open. Now don’t go jumping to conclusions there may be a logical reason. It is not a reason to doubt but rather realize it wasn’t part of God’s plan.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jer. 29:11

This is my all time favorite verse yet sometimes I forget and waver. I am not perfect at all. Yet I know I can get closer than I was if I stay fixated on God’s promises. Don’t listen to the voices that are negative. Don’t compare your situation with someone else. Don’t doubt the gifts God has instilled in you. I want the best for people. I want the best for myself, and there is no doubt about it.

Leave a Reply

