Forgiveness: The College Years

So a hard thing for me to do is to forgive. I honestly do not feel the need to bring people back into my life or acknowledge their presence when they have lost their chances, it is just way too much work and I cannot be bothered. I find it easier to just block them, delete them ,they can fall off the face of the earth,( actually no I would be devastated) you get the point. That’s my method and it has been a bullet proof method for majority of my life…until I hit the college years. They say in college “you meet your life long friends” oh goodie. I have quickly learned that this method does not work for life long friends. There are people that you are going to want to get rid of, but God has other plans. Even if they do you wrong, just forgive. Oh please do not forgive for their sake, do it for you. You are the one that has to wake up in the morning, at least wake up with a pure heart, a forgiving heart. Now let me tell you, it is not the easiest thing to do, but it is worth it. Now if you forgive and the person still has their own battles to fight, let them fight it, give them room, but you have done your part and that is all that matters. I have come to see that the college years bring you probably the most diverse range of people; each of them in your life for a reason, season, or a lifetime. Each person handpicked by God Himself to teach, show, learn, help, or grow from. Nobody is less than the other. Just understand the place you are with that person, understand whether God wants you to move on, be patient, embrace, or show tough love, whatever it may be. Understand there will be conflicts, but they should not dwell no more than 24 hours, just FORGIVE. Honestly don’t even expect an apology because that might just get you all riled up. I feel like during the college years everything makes us passionate, and that’s ok because it’s a part of life, but it is also a part of life to forgive, especially while you are young.

Leave a Reply

